My role


New DOH team: roles and responsibilities

The government has this morning announced the breakdown of responsibilities for the new Department of Health team. Rosie Winterton gets equality and diversity issues while Caroline Flint is charged with public health.

The full list of ministers appointed in the post-election reshuffle and their responsbilities appear below. The opposition spokespeople follow. 

Rt Hon Patricia Hewitt MP - Secretary of State for Health

  • Patricia Hewitt was appointed Secretary of State for Health in May 2005. The Secretary of State has overall responsibility for the work of the Department, including NHS and social care delivery and system reforms, finance and resources, and strategic communications.

Lord Warner of Brockley - Minister of State for NHS Delivery

  • Responsibilities include NHS finance issues; NHS workforce issues including education and training; primary care; chronic disease; NHS foundation trusts; NHS information technology (IT); access and delivery, including unscheduled and emergency care; winter planning; private finance initiative (PFI) and NHS LIFT and choice.

Rosie Winterton MP - Minister of State for Health Services

  • Responsibilities include international and EU business; emergency preparedness; cancer services; cardiac services; diabetes services; mental health; prison healthcare; dentistry; patient and public involvement; renal services; and equality and diversity issues.

Rt Hon Jane Kennedy MP - Minister of State for Quality and Patient Safety

  • Responsibilities include standards, inspection and performance; patient safety, including the National Patient Safety Agency (NPSA); clinical governance and quality issues; clinical negligence; MRSA; reducing bureaucracy; National Institute of Clinical Excellence (NICE); genetics; Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) and medicines; pharmaceutical industry and pharmacy; R&D; counter fraud; and Departmental management.

Caroline Flint MP - Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Public Health

  • Responsibilities include Public Health White Paper implementation; health inequalities; drugs; tobacco; alcohol; physical activity; diet and nutrition; communicable diseases; sexual health; Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority (HFEA); Food Standards Authority (FSA); fluoridation; sustainable development. Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Public Health also supports the Minister of State for Health Services on international business, cancer and cardiac services.

Liam Byrne MP - Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Care Services

  • Responsibilities include social care finance, performance and workforce issues; Commission for Social Care Inspection (CSCI) and Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE); children's health, maternity services, child and adult mental health services; older people's services, including intermediate care; physical and learning disabilities, including services for vulnerable adults; long-term conditions national service framework (NSF); services provided by allied health professionals; voluntary sector.

Opposition spokespeople

The Shadow Secretary of State for Health for the Conservative Party is Andrew Lansley MP. The shadow ministers are John Baron MP and Simon Burns MP.

The Liberal Democrat Shadow Health Secretary is Steve Webb MP.

Page created on May 16th, 2005

Page updated on December 1st, 2009